Fortescue CEO named WA Business Leader of the Year

Dec 1, 2016

Fortescue Metals Group (Fortescue) Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Nev Power, has been named WA Business Leader of the Year at the AIM WA WestBusiness Pinnacle Awards. 

Accepting the award at an event in Perth, Mr Power said this was a testament to the determination and enthusiasm of everyone at Fortescue. 

“2016 has been a record breaking year for Fortescue, with improved safety performance, consistent production and a focus on productivity and efficiency delivering cost reductions. The success of our business in turn enables our commitment to ensure that our communities benefit from the development and growth of Fortescue,” Mr Power said. 

“I would like to thank each and everyone one of our great Fortescue family for their passion, innovative ideas and dedication to be the world’s safest, lowest cost, most profitable iron ore producer,” Mr Power said. 

Each award winner was presented with $10,000 to be donated to a charity of their choice. Mr Power chose White Ribbon Australia. 

“I became a White Ribbon Ambassador in 2015 because I am in a position to influence, educate and show leadership on the issue of family and domestic violence in our workplaces and in the wider community,” Mr Power said. 

“I encourage everyone to stand up, speak out and take action to end all forms of violence against women,” Mr Power said. 

Since Mr Power’s appointment as CEO in 2011, Fortescue has tripled its production to 165-170 million tonnes per annum and in FY16 generated revenue of US$7.1 billion. The company is recognised for its unique culture, innovation and world class infrastructure and mining assets in the Pilbara, Western Australia. 

Fortescue believes in generating long term value for its stakeholders through empowerment, valuing communities and respecting the environment. Mr Power has led Fortescue’s commitment to safety excellence, and to the Billion Opportunities program which has awarded over A$1.8 billion in contracts to Aboriginal businesses.

161201 WA Business Leader of the Year